Random engine temp

Doing stuff with air...

Moderators: Dan J, Stuart, Diesel Dave, Crazymanneil

alexanderfoti
Site Admin

Random engine temp

Post by alexanderfoti » Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:58 pm

Hi all

I have 2 radiators in series on my D950 engined bike. I have also added a higher flow pump.

When I only had one, it would overheat on fast roads.

Now that the winter is approaching, I have the opposite problem. On fast roads I can watch the temp gauge drop. I have an 88 degree thermostat in there and today I had 74 degrees C on a dual carriageway at 45mph for 5 miles.

I have a radiator block on the front covering its entirety. I haven't tried blocking the rear radiator yet, but surely it shouldn't cool down if the thermostat was completely closed?

Tetronator
I luv the smell of Diesel...

Re: Random engine temp

Post by Tetronator » Wed Nov 11, 2015 9:03 pm

I had the same problem with my shadow all-tough that was when temperatures were minus 10 degrees Celsius, I had to cover-up the entire radiator just to keep the oil temp above 60 degrees & to stop it bogging down on the highway.

Check the thermostat if its still properly aligned inside its casing, it might be permanently stuck open due to the overheating problem. I saw that happen with a mates CB500.
"...the fearless Dutchman..." -Stuart
"...the mad Dutchman..." -Diesel Dave

Honda VT600 C Shadow
H̶o̶n̶d̶a̶ ̶C̶B̶R̶6̶0̶0̶F̶2̶
Mercedes-Benz W123 300D Sedan

alexanderfoti
Site Admin

Post by alexanderfoti » Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:00 pm

I will check the thermostat, I recently replaced it so I hope its not stuck but you never know.

alexanderfoti
Site Admin

Post by alexanderfoti » Mon Nov 16, 2015 3:37 pm

Long story short, I got stuck in the car park with my bike and tools and had to wait 3 hours before my GF would come home and let me into the house, so I decided to use the time to remove the rear radiator.